Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is prominent to obtain a job of your dream in this competitive market, while some individuals hold the thought that completing graduation is the best way to get employed. However, others think by enhancing skills and gaining experience is crucial. This essay will analyse both perspectives and I am personally in favour of the latter view. On the one hand, those who say that college education stands high chances in accomplishing any career give their reason as follow. A student who completes university education is provided with all the necessary information to face society once he is out of college life, and most of the colleges have a campus interview facility which allows the students to get placed by the organisation through the interview directly conducted in college premises. To illustrate out of my own experience, my first appointment was through a campus interview with one of a reputed company in the market. On the other hand, there are many reasons why others assert that it is highly essential to improve soft skills and hands-on experience to secure an occupation. Firstly, despite holding a proper educational background, it is mandatory to be competent and knowledgeable to perform the job without any discrepancies. In other words, it is advisable to opt for an internship first, which will enable us to learn and have an in-depth understanding of the nature of work. Secondly, once we designated a profession role, special training organised by the company to improve skills in interpersonal, communication and analytical aspects, which aids to carry out the responsibilities. For instance, an accounting graduate, who got appointed as an accountant in an organisation, will not be allowed to commence the responsibilities immediately as certain training is required. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that apart from education it is essential to be skilful as it widens the opportunity to be employed. Also, it is irrefutable that such self-development will have a significant impact on an individual’s life.