Some people argue that the purpose of zoos is only to entertain people. What do you think? What are other purposes of zoos?

It is proposed by a few individuals that entertaining people is the sole motive of zoos. I am at variance with this view because zoos serve many other purposes too, which are discussed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people think that zoos are only meant for amusement reasons as they provide beautiful views of a small world of plants and animals. In other words, a wide range of animals, particularly endangered ones can be found in these zoos, which become a great source of entertainment for individuals. This is especially true in the case of the famous Tiger Zoo and Safari World of Thailand, which entertain plenty of tourists daily with the astonishing wild creatures. Thus, this makes it obvious that families enjoy their holidays or weekends in these zoos, thereby viewing various kinds of animals. Apart from the entertainment, among all other motives of zoos, the first and the foremost is that children can be educated regarding wildlife. This is primarily for the fact that once the torchbearers observe the life of animals kept in their artificial habitats, they can easily acquire the knowledge by relating to their biological lectures. Besides this, in most zoos, the keeper of the animals organizes short talks for tourists in an attempt to make things convenient for them. In this way, children not only clarify their doubts about wild creatures but also learn their significance and in turn, respect them. Yet another factor in this context is that zoos can be used for protecting endangered species. It is generally seen that many animals are being killed by hunters these days in order to sell for different purposes, however, in zoos, they are well kept by experienced staff. Not only this, they are even properly fed and medically examined periodically. Besides this, a scientist can work on improving the population of endangered species with artificial breeding programs when they are kept in zoos. Therefore, zoos pave a way for saving endangered wildlife. In the gist of the above contents, it can be concluded that, although zoos serve an important purpose in entertaining individuals, these still have an integral role in imparting wildlife education to little ones as well as conserving the endangered species.