The popularity of dead languages such as Latin and ancient Greek in schools is declining, as many people consider their study to be a waste of time and funding. How does the study of dead languages add to academic and personal development? Why might some people feel that funds could be better allocated?

The study of dead languages like Latin and ancient Greek is becoming less common in schools, as many people believe it is a waste of time and money. I agree with this statements, deceased languages should not be learned by the people because of this less profit and insufficient human development. There are a lot of things that everyone can deal with, for instance, music,learning popular languages or doing your favourite hobbies. All of this actions provides you more financial gain. But if you will study any of dead language, you will just waste your time. According to 2012 estimates, there are only 13.5 million native speakers of Greek in the world, while 1.35 billion speak English. A new dead language will not provide you with opportunities to communicate with new people and with modern art On the other hand, I do not think everyone must study Latin or Greek. But I believe in the former notion that the educational attributes of a well-educated person must include grounding in the intellectual and artistic heritage of that person’s culture. It is not elitist to think that some of the individuals in our culture must be prepared to carry our culture forward. Whether they actually will contribute in that way is, of course, up to them. Thus, we can conclude that this problem has two sides of the same coin. However, I am more inclined to think that it is not worth learning dead languages like Latin or Greek.