Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? It is true that recycling rate of domestic waste is remaining at a low level. While some individuals suggest that introducing new laws is the only measure to address this issue, I believe that more methods could be taken to cope with the recycling problem. On the one hand, I do agree that governments should play regulatory roles in saving energy; implementing compulsory regulations certainly can enhance the efficiency of reusing. A good example could be the recycling rules in China, which have been imposed on citizens since the year 2019. These regulations request the public to classify household waste, and families violating them would be fined a small amount of money. As a result, more waste has been reused in Chinese households. However, tackling waste problem can not only rely on regulations or penalties. There are other steps could be taken to deal with it. One of the essential methods is to set courses in the school curriculum, which would cultivate a long-term awareness of the importance of saving energy and recycling materials among young generations. By this means, children would be encouraged to recycle on a daily basis. Another helpful measure could be arranging specific timetables for the public to dispose of household waste. For instance, residents in Shanghai have to throw wastes at 8 to 10 o'clock each morning; staffs are hired in neighbourhoods to supervise people. In conclusion, apart from introducing laws, many methods can be used to motivate people to recycle waste at home