Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When students are relieved from the heavy burden of endless homework in senior! high schools and get enrolled in universities, it is likely that they have come to a paradise i...;of knowledge as well as freedom. All in all, it is their turn to choose what they would like to study. However, some people may start to worry about university students9 free choices— how could they choose what they should study in the next four years at such a young age? How could they know which subject is useful and which is useless? What if they study r.... ' some totally meaningless subjects and idle their valuable time away? From my perspective, these people seem to be too considerate to have a long-, term programme for young students ' development. In my opinion, choosing subjects by themselves can be more helpful for individual students as well as the whole society. That is to say, parents, university and society should encourage students to study what they like, instead of restricting them to certain practical subjects. Firstly, interest is the best teacher in our life. When we have passion on what we are doing, it is more likely for us to insist on it and make a great achievement in the future. For example, a good teacher must love his students and keep his students ' interest in mind; a professional doctor needs to be humane and sympathetic towards his patients; a top pianist should be crazy about his composition, to name just few. On the contrary, if a person is not fascinated about what he is studying, it can be really difficult for him to come to the peak of his career. Secondly, the differences between usefulness and uselessness are hard to distinguish, to some extent. Science and technology are certainly of great importance in the development of our society, but other subjects relating to philosophy and literature can also be priceless, which may not make a large profit directly, but may update our culture from a long perspective. So we cannot just simply say which subject is useful and which is useless. As long as we put our heart into what we are studying, we can make it useful. All in all, as young university students, it is better fbr us to learn what we are really interested in as well as keep our responsibilities fbr this society in our mind. Moreover,:, when it comes to friendship, marriage, career and so on, we need also insist on this principle.