Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about spending too much time on transportation to work, some even argue that it`s best to remove the public parks for apartments instead to solve this issue. My view is that this kind of replacement will do zero good on people who spend a long time travel to work. Let`s assume there were numeric apartments replaced by parks and gardens set up in the city center already to start this argument. These houses must be ridiculously expensive. People who normally live in a suburb might still not able to afford it. If ideally the apartment is managed by the government, authorities tend to enact a strict standard to recruit candidates for government-controlled houses. There must be a long waiting list ahead, therefore most of the commuters will still need to travel for a long distance. For example, shanghai issued a low-rent apartment policy in 2012. The average rent for the same is at least 20% lower than the market. Still, there are people who waited from 2012 till now and still have no clue about the apartment. This is not to say that live nearby do not have any advantages. Stay close to the place you work will save precious time and energy that will help people be productive during work. Moreover, since time on the way is saved, people can balance better on life and work that will be a benefit their mental health. For instance, one of my colleagues spends nearly 6 hours on daily transportation. It`s hard for him to focus on his task hence got himself fired; he was frustrated after. For him, I do believe build a life near the company will be helpful, but I still not see the necessity of tear the parks apart for it. In sum, replace the parks with accommodations will not help thereby it`s not necessary. Therefore, if we truly wish to resolve the issue may be the government could support expanding sub-centre for the city or announce a statement for people to work from home. By doing so we can make sure that people could survive without suffering from exhausted travelling.