Task 2: In some countries the average weight of people is increasing, and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

The human body requires a balanced diet. An unhealthy diet can cause various health problems such as increase in weight. Necessary steps are required to alleviate this issue and the causes are also discussed in this essay. To begin with, there are several reasons for this overweight. In this modern era, many people nowadays rely on fast food or pre-prepared meals. These foods often contain too much fat, salt and sugar. In addition, they are cheap to buy and very easy to prepare. Consequently, due to lack of exercise, their fitness and health levels are decreasing. People in this society lead a sedentary lifestyle. They tend to walk less and do desk jobs. Most adults watch telivision and relax,. Children play video games rather than doing outdoor sports. However, some measures for this cause can reduce the problem. A diet with regular exercise can result in good health, which leads to decrease in heart problems, stress, obesity, diabetes. Exercise burns calories and helps to build healthy bones and muscles. So, regular exercise with proper diet is essential in maintaining a healthy body. Government have a significant role to play in reducing obesity. The state should promote a healthy diet and regular exercise. For example, the British government recommends eating five portions of fruit and vegetables per day. To conclude, even though there were many reasons for overweight and health issues, certain measures can help in overcoming these problems. Government has more onus for maintaining good health.