Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment.

The booming population and the expensive mortgages nowadays have forced many buyers to choose apartments over houses. Many believe that despite the fact that apartments tend to be more affordable, living in houses is more advantageous. However, in addition to more favourable price ranges, I believe that there are more benefits to live in an apartment than a house. Choosing an apartment means more convenience and more access to public facilities as most apartments are built in centrally aggregated communities. This means that dwellers of the apartments may be able to reach grocery stores, restaurants and many other service providers within walking distance. Many of the apartments are also managed by full-time specialists who are on-call 24 hours. If the sink is clogged, for example, apartment dwellers can just call the responsible personnel instead of getting their own hands dirty. Living in an apartment also means more potential social life. Unlike houses that are widely spaced out and one house is only occupied by one family, an apartment normally has many units and rooms. In another word, tenants of the apartment will have a higher chance to meet and greet their neighbours, which is the first step of any types of further social interactions. Some apartments may even have an in-house gym and common room for their tenants to mingle with each other. In conclusion, although many people may be tempted to live in houses due to their spaciousness, I believe an apartment is a better choice especially for those who prefer quick access to community and dining services, as well as those who enjoy versatile social lives.