Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is no secret that computers and computer-based systems have contributed in basically every aspect in our lives - from laptops, smartphones, smartwatches, and even "smart", computerized home appliances. Computer programs are also increasingly used by schools in addition of books. Some may argue that using computers for teaching process would be very beneficial - therefore should be introduced in schools - while others say that it can have negative effects as well. The first viewpoint focuses on the positive effects of using computer during teaching and learning sessions. And I agree that there are positives of computer-based learning compared to traditional book-based learning. For example, students using computers are only required to bring a notebook, neccessary stationary, and at most, a laptop, compared to carrying several textbooks which can affect the students ' shoulders. In addition, computer-based learning also allow student to take notes and do exams by typing instead of writing by hand, in which illegible handwriting can affect the grades. Also, computerized learning can also be done in distance (online), which is especially an advantage during a global pandemic like today. On the other hand, the view that computerized learning may bring certain risks highlights its drawbacks. One of the risks stem from the prolonged screen exposure. There are studies which states that staring at electronic screens can affect the eye and the brain negatively. Also, the use of computers and smartphones for learning can be a source of distraction - e.g. from the games and the web browser. Finally, computer-based learning also make students increasingly unfamiliar with conventional teaching aspects like writing by hand - which can be needed in the workplace. My opinion regarding this issue is that a hybrid of both systems would be the most viable method of learning. The lectures, assignments, and quizzes could use computer, but the final exams would be conducted mostly using handwriting method - unless it is a project exam. That way, students do not have to carry textbooxts textboxes often, but screen time can also be limited and students still use some elements of traditional system such as writing by hand during exams.