Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that high schools should combine unpaid community service together with the academic curriculum as an obligatory section instead of free choices before. However, some people believe that these activities such as: working for a charity, improving a neighbour,... would affect teenager's studying quality. This essay will discuss the advantages of this trend, followed by a concrete conclusion. Firstly, its program provides great opportunities for high school students to open their horizons to a different class of social life. For instance, organizers provide attendants with working for a charity which helps them to know the insight of poverty. Honestly, learners might just give household appliances to the poor or do them a favour in one day; however, students should put themselves in one shoe and experience another lifestyle. Secondly, they are good chances for learners to form or strengthen their relationships. Truthfully, people tend to argue with neighbours or relatives because of social contradiction. Therefore, this course could train them to become more sympathetic to others and have a better way to tackle the problem. Since then, they should make new friends and have a happier life in a cosy neighbourhood that influences positively to research in school. Last but not least, soft skills are concerned to devote the positive effect of this trend. There are ample reasons but the one I want to put forth is the improvement of cognitive capacity. High school pupils who decide to teach sports or academic subjects to younger children take advantage of training themselves with communication skills and distinct ability. A recent survey reveals that 85% of volunteer learners become successful in their career with useful activities in high school. In conclusion, I have a tendency to say that it is utterly essential for high school students to apply for unpaid work because of its merit. Besides acquiring a variety of information at school, they should not only have fun but also fulfil their personal characteristics when attending these services. From my perspective, I hope that these programs would witness an upward trend in all schools.