The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that governments allocate too much economic resources to space programs which could be more beneficial if used in vital public sectors such as health and education. while I believe education and health are very important, I completely dissagree with cutting down space programs budget on order to be spent on schools and hospitals. One on hand, it is true that the governments should spend more money on education and health. The reason is because not enough people are getting proper education and medical services are too expensive for the majority of people. Governments could increase the quality these vital public services by allocating more annual budget to these sectors. For instance, in the begining of COVID pandemic governments spent a lot of money to research institutes to develop a vacine. On the other hand, the budget of space program mostly goes into funding various new research programs to develop new technologies. Many of the technologies that we use today has been developed during cold war when united states and russia spend a lot of money on their space missions. GPS, for instance, was originally build to compute position of satelites in the space. I believe governments shou;d continue to fund space projects because not only it will result in new tecnologies but also it will enable new possibilities and capabilities for humans in the future. In conclusion, space programs are crucial for the future of humans and the governments should spend as much money as it is necessary on these programs.