Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books. What is your opinion?

It is often perceived by some parents that spending time on reading books for amusement is an absolute waste of time. Instead, they should read books which provide educational information. In my opinion, both educational and leisure books are critically important for children in developing their cognitive abilities and should not be restricted to one genre. Some parents think that their children should focus only on educational content than on other books. This is mainly because parents want their children to focus on studies and acheive good grades which gives them the leverage of shaping their career. Moreover, by concentrating on educational books it creates a desire in the minds of children to choose a subject of specialisation and excel in that particular stream. For example, a recent survey by the experts has concluded that children from a tender age who choose a subject as an interest have successfully acheived their ambitions. On the contrary, children who read books for entertainment have exhibited wider range of vocabulary and are also equipped with great reading skills. To elaborate, reading various contents other than textbooks is always beneficial for children in developing their speaking, reading and writing skills. Moreover, it also enhances their imagination and creativity in learning the essential qualities necessary for life without the need of any external supervision. In conclusion, despite some parents force their children to read only books which contain informational content it is necessary for children to spend time on reading books for leisure as it enhances their thinking and cognitive abilities.