To what extent do you think governments should be held responsible when problems of homelessness and unemployment arise?

It is viewed that whenever the issues pertaining to homelessness and unemployment erupt, governments are held accountable. I also endorse this notion to a large extent and the reasons behind my stance are discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the paramount reason in this context is that when an efficient administration fails to create sufficient jobs for their citizens, plenty of educated individuals become unemployed. This is primarily for a fact that every state has enough tendency to employ the youth of the country in various government and non-government firms, however, sometimes, the lack of management land their people into severe unemployment. A case in point is that many developed nations like the US and Russia have been able to recruit their citizens through various employment schemes, even with tie-ups in private organizations. As a result, the unemployment rate has plunged to 6% in contrast to under-developed nations, where the rate has not dropped yet. Thus, these appropriate strategies of government pave the path for curbing the jobless rate in the country. To fortify further, yet another aspect in this regard is that governments have a considerable amount of funds to cater to the community, who cannot build their own home. As a matter of fact, a lot of taxes are collected from wealthy persons in the same nations. Therefore, in such a scenario, if the same funds are utilized in a proper way, many people can be saved from becoming homeless. For instance, the New Zealand administration has recently launched a homelessness action plan with an investment of $300 million in order to provide transactional home places, especially to the street children and elders who are unable to look after themselves. Hence, this makes it obvious that it is up to the administration to ensure the well-being of its people. However, on the other hand, there are a few external factors that cannot be ignored. Firstly, any proficient administration hardly has any control over the international crisis compared to internal affairs, which can be effectively curtailed. To cite an example, although the economic recession was mainly observed in the US in 2008, still it severely affected other nations such as India and China as well. Secondly, the pandemic may also impact the whole world so badly that even a good government becomes helpless in combating problems related to employment and homelessness. This is especially witnessed in 2020 while the lockdown was imposed in most of the countries due to the spreading of the Covid-19 virus worldwide. As per the survey conducted by UNESCO, 24% of youth have been rendered unemployed owing to the damaged economies by Covid-19, thereby making many homeless in both developed and developing nations. In the gist of the above contents, it can be concluded that despite the fact that there are a couple of challenges arise for governments at the international level sometimes, it is the sole responsibility of the administration to provide shelter and jobs to their citizens at the national platform by implementing a wide range of plans.