Should criminals be punished with lengthy jail terms or re-educated and rehabilitated, using community service programs, before being reintroduced to the society?

Punishment is used as a deterrent to reduce crime and is often served as per the extant of crime, age and gender of criminal. The more severe a crime is the more capital is the punishment given including lengthy jail terms and even life sentences in some cases. There is a certain segment of society that believes that criminals should be rehabilitated and should be reintroduced to society, rather than punishing them with lengthy jail terms. However, I believe that offenders of serious crimes and serial offenders should not be rehabilitated, and they deserve stricter and longer jail terms. With the increase in the crime rate around the globe, the demand for harder laws and strict punishments is increasing. There is a thought that only with the hard punishments, people can be made afraid of the law and thus crime rate can be lowered. For example, some people advocate that serving a death sentence to a convict of murder or rape will put the fear among people not do such crime ever. Hence, stricter punishments to lower the crime seems to be the need of time. On the contrary, there is a part of society that feels that by re-educating the convicts through community service programs, they can be rehabilitated. The argument is that most of the times, it is just circumstances and misguidance which leads a person to the path of crime. For example, it has been seen that a person is stealing money just to get medicine for someone sick in the family because he cannot afford it otherwise. Children sometimes get involved in crimes like fights and drugs just because they are misled by fellow students or seniors. So, re-educating and rehabilitating them and making them serve the community as a punishment, can not only help them in re-entering society as a good citizen but also can bring very positive changes in their future life. In conclusion, even though offenders can be reintroduced to society by rehabilitating them, as it gives them a chance to put their life back on track again, however, rehabilitation program should not be for the convicts of serious crimes and serial offenders because they can be a threat to society if reintroduced.