Some systems require students to specialize in a limited range of subjects from the age of fifteen. Other systems require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of these two education systems and which is better?

It is no secret that education is a very essential part of life. However, there are differing opinions regarding school education. While some agree that students should specialize in certain subjects since the age of fifteen, others think that students should study a wide range of fields until the end of school. This essay showcases the positives of both systems and presents the writer's personal opinion. Regarding the first system, which requires students to be focused in certain fields, it has the advantage of helping students explore deeper in their preferred subject. Students can study the fields they are the most passionate about extensively and in turn can master in that subjects before applying to college. Additionally, there are students that are good in a certain range of subject and at the same time have weaknesses in other areas of knowledge. Hence, by allowing students to focus at the subjects they excel at, they are not distracted by studying other fields which can also affect their overall grades. On the other hand, the system that demands students to study a variety of subjects has its own benefits as well. In this system, students can learn various areas of knowledge, and in turn gives student knowledge of each field. Also, by mastering many subjects, student can have more choices in applying to college and pursuing their future career. Personally, I do think that the first system is better. In my opinion, student should be able to choose their areas of interest in study by high school or age fifteen. That way, they can learn about the fields they liked the most. Furthermore, that can also help students to be focused in certain areas of knowledge and have a certain, defined choice of future studies and jobs.