Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

There has been a significant change in human life over the past few decades, from the way we exercise to the food we consume, everything has been improved to provide a better living condition for human beings. However, in contrast to popular belief, professionals believe that the elderly were more joyful and fitter since they used more time to enjoy themselves with fams and peers, whereas, nowadays old people tend to suffer solitary and medical problems. This essay tends to elaborate thoroughly on the causes as well as solutions to the matter. There are multiple reasons why senior citizens in modern days prone to be lonely and more likely to be exposed to certain illness. First, since the existence of technological devices, people are more interested in staying indoors instead of going out as those devices meet all their daily needs, from the latest news to entertainment. Therefore, the elder will lessen their opportunities to exercise day by day as well as chances to make new connections to people in the neighbourhood. In addition, there has also been a huge consumption of fast food in the past few years among the old, fast food is one of the major factors which lead to many certain health problems such as diabetes, heart disease,… Furthermore, the government has not paid enough attention to community activity for this age group. Possible solutions should be sought to deal with this catastrophic phenomenon. First, the government should encourage the authority to organize more events or club for senior members in order to create a friendly environment for the elderly to get along with each other. Furthermore, a special medical program is necessarily needed in this group in the community so as to provide specific knowledge about which kind of food their body needs to consume and to take track of their health frequently so as to prevent fatal circumstances. To sum up, although there have been many huge improvements in modern days which facilitate human life, the elderly seem to experience more difficulty in coping with loneliness and healthy problem than they had to in the past. However, there are several solutions that are made in order to reduce the chance that this phenomenon may occur in the community.