In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

A vast majority of students are not selecting science as their subjects, especially in developing countries because of a lack of job opportunities and excessive study load. The lack of science graduates has had detrimental impacts on society such as major human resource crisis and lack of technological development. There are multifarious causes beneath why students are not fascinated with scientific studies. The predominant one is there is not enough job in the market for science graduates. By saying so, I mean that workplaces are highly interested in the finance and marketing degree holders to boost their business rather than hiring science students. Apart from this, the other cause is that to study science subjects, children require extra diligence as well as a lot of patience and confidence. For instance, a biology student has to do an extra number of researches with excessive hard work as compared to other subjects. Lack of science graduates can impact society negatively in the long run. First of all, a major human workforce crisis can happen in the market. This is because the students with other degrees such as arts, humanity and finance will increase, conversely job will decrease, as a result, unemployment in society will arise. Lastly, with less number of skilled science degree holders, society will not advance appropriately. A good illustration of this is without a science graduate, the construction of any building would not be possible. To conclude, the shortage of science students can come because of various reasons and it can damage society immensely.