SHOULD CRIMINALS BE PUNISHED WITH LENGTHY JAIL TERMS OR SHOULD THEY BE RE-EDUCATED, USING COMMUNITY SERVICE PROGRAMS FOR INSTANCE, BEFORE BEING REINTRODUCED TO SOCIETY?

In recent years, law enforcement is stricter due to an increase in crime, and its record is directly linked to the accused's profile. While, one of the deciding factors is long term imprisonment or improving them by reinstructing through certain institutions cannot be unforeseen. Therefore, before surging my opinion, I would like to discuss both sides in the forthcoming paragraphs. The long time duration of sentencing may lead to fewer chances of improving the character, as a basic need of employment is at risk. After spending a long period in jail, it would be difficult to find a job due to the “Criminal tag”. Apart from this, if the crime happened inadvertently, after a long sentence that person is unable to occupy the same position in his/her profession due to lack and gap of experience. For example, in a survey by the “National crime,bureau” it comes into effect that 30 per cent of criminals were recommitted to criminal activities due to boycott by society and not getting the right to join jobs according to academics. Thus, criminals after spending their crucial time in jail again indulge in crime. On the contrary, re-teaching the accused by deciding particular circumstances responsible for lead crime would give an opportunity for improvisation. If a person committed the crime for unavoidable circumstances and under influence of wrong peer-groups; it would be better to give guidance at this stage to get back on track. In addition to this, the accused admitted that due to specific reasons he has to do this criminal activity, at this stage counselling would lead to the right direction. For instance, in a research of the United States, a group of people kept in jail and others at rehabilitation centres and results are drastically opposite each other, as jail candidates are more violent, and other group reform rates are much higher. Hence, learning with freedom gives better outcomes. To conclude, I completely agree with the aforesaid point that it would be encouraged to reduce criminal activities, rework on the personality required at a particular rehabilitation centre. However, longevity in the duration of imprisonment should keep on the second option.