With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched natural places. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages of damaging such areas?

The demand for energy sources of fossil fuels is continually rising due to the increasing population and industrializing. This definitely results in exploring the sources of oil and gas into wilderness areas. This essay will analyze this phenomenon and illustrate a clear opinion. On the one hand, Exploiting new sources of fossil fuels is a noticeable benefit for people to maintain a normal life. Our lives, from womb-to-tomb, require a huge amount of natural resources like petrol and gas. In other words, only non-stop exploring new resources, including taking risks to strange places can help us maintain a decent living standard. For example, we must fulfil many duties in our daily routine like commuting, which need to fuel petrol for public transportation and private vehicles; additionally, we need the power to light on, run a washing machine, and to charge our smartphone. All these activities need consuming natural resources to supply directly or not. On the other hand, it is unfortunate that oil and gas are non-regenerated energy. Endless asking for natural resources from Mother Earth, including untouched and unchanged places, which certainly leads to many eco-systematical issues, including posing a threat to wildlife and their habitats, contaminating the headwaters of rivers, desertification and so on. In other words, the damaged ecosystem gives us many feedbacks like drought, lack of potable water, global warming and abnormal climate. Consequently, we have to pay for more intangible costs in order to combat those natural disasters, in addition to the cost of using oil and gas. In conclusion, according to the above analysis for the exploitation of natural resources like oil and gas, I pessimistically believe that the disadvantage of damaging outweigh the advantage of exploitation and demanding human will be in deep trouble because of greed.