Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there are many majors in the university that we have never seen before, some of these new courses might be useful and not. That is might be the reason why some people believe that students should only study subjects that are useful in the future, such as science and technology, whilst others think the other way around. Therefore, in this essay, I would like to examine both views and give a plausible conclusion regarding that matter. To begin with, it can not be denied that learning anything that we like would give us a good vibe which can be a good way to maintain our psychological health. For instance, it has been proven by many findings, when people are doing something that they like, it will increase the production of the good hormone in our body. As a result, their personal healths are improved or I could say, the immune system works well and it can combat many viruses which in a long-term period, it can extend our lifespan and health. Also, on top of that, it must be bear in mind that all courses are useful for improving our civilization, so we can not aside other courses and only focusing on science and technology. Why did I say that? It is because the cooperation between many fields will wide the possibility to create a new innovation, only focusing on 1 field will not open that probability, such as the emergence of Canva application that combines the disciplinary between design and technology. Hence, giving free will to the pupils may be a win-win solution for them and society. However, on the other side, it is true that the advancement of science and technology give a tremendous effect on our lives. Therefore, it is very hard to overlook it, but if we are forcing pupils to learn only that thing, it will create another burden for them which can cause many problems. Based on my knowledge, every person has their own capacity and if you insist a low achiever student to learn about science, it will stress him out and finally, he would commit suicide because his brain is not created to learn about that. Another example, when many people graduate from the same field, the job vacancies related to that field must be full and in the end, it can cause unemployment and poverty. In a nutshell, even though some people said learning useful courses would be beneficial, but the positive effect of learning a wide range of subjects is more appealing and, unfortunately, it can bring something positive and applicable for all human being. Thus, in the end, I think, it is better to allow pupils to study anything that they like as long it gives a positive effect on us.