Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Concerns have raised to withdraw courses like philosophy and history, which are related to arts subjects while restricting intake only for high demand, practical degree programs, as there are only a very few opportunities in the society for employment along with increasing course fees. In my opinion, I agree somewhat with this statement as unemployment of graduates increased in the past decade. Students dedicate nearly four years of their valuable time to obtain a degree and spend a significant amount on money as tuition fees for the university. Completing the degree after these commitments should secure a job opportunity in the relevant field as the student might have to pay a debt after graduation. If it is not possible to get into an occupation with a certain level of income, what would be the point of completing the degree? For example, in Sri Lanka, many arts graduates are unemployed and it is very common to see protests carried out in public places against the government. Meanwhile, there is a significant amount of shortage is observed in certain engineering fields like software and IT. However, it is important to have courses related to history, philosophy and other arts-related subjects in a country to secure the cultural heritage and to maintains balance in the society. But, keeping the intake to a certain level where it is not exceeding the demand should be governed by the relevant authorities. Furthermore, with the advancements of technology in recent years, publishing free, online courses on certain areas could avoid the adverse effects of such decisions. In conclusion, providing more opportunities to obtain degrees of more practical, industry-focused courses should be encouraged while keeping arts subjects as well to a certain level within the requirement of the society. It will reduce the money and time wasted by students to receive a qualification that does not have an actual demand in the industry.