These days with advances in technology more and more people are working from home. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

Nowadays with the advent of advanced technology, the number of people who are choosing to work remotely has increased. Although, it is thought by some that working from home it is not as much productive as working in an physical office, in my opinion I think that working from home has some important advantages that would worth be taken into account. Admittedly, there are important benefits in working in an office. Firstly, the most important benefit of working in an office is having the opportunity of meeting the team in person, which can increase communication and in turn the productivity of the company. It is a well-known fact that building rapport between colleagues is paramount when it comes to work efficiency. Secondly, we humans are social creatures, and day-to-day commuting and working in an office gives us the chance to socialise and to meet new people. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above I believe, that working from home has some valuable benefits which would be a shame to miss out on. A first advantage of working remotely would be, the fact that people would not need to commute to work. This on the one hand means more free time, and on the other hand, less cars on the streets mean traffic jams could be avoided and also locals could benefit from a better air quality, less tainted by the toxic gas emissions from cars. A further advantage is that employees no longer have to be located where the company resides, they can work remotely. Working online employees can live in a different town or different country or even can travel while working. To sum up, I believe that physical presence at work is still important for the reasons mentioned. However, online working has benefits that can not be ignored without missing out. Therefore, employers should adopt a type of hybrid workplace model, in which employees can perform most of their tasks from outside the office (mostly their homes), while other tasks continue to perform at the office.