There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Over the last century, tertiary education has become available to more people than ever before. Although this can be beneficial for individuals and for society as a whole, some people argue that the growth in student numbers is having a negative impact on the standard of education. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this trend. To begin with, the worldwide expansion of tertiary education has been a positive trend for those involved. It has enabled more people to realize their capabilities, gain a qualification and pursue a career that interests them. Furthermore, jobs that require a higher education are often well paid and thus allow those people to enjoy a higher quality of life. This in turn helps to raise the standard of living of society through economic development. For instance, in countries with high number of physicians, health care can be provided to inhabitants in better quality. However, on the other hand, the growing availability of further education also has some drawbacks. A growth in student numbers has at times led to much larger classes. As a result, teachers are often too busy to give sufficient attention to their students. In some cases, this may cause a drop in standards and this could make it easier for students to pass. Thus, universities are in danger of being seen as “degree factories” in which the quantity of students rates higher than the quality of education. In conclusion, a university education can be a significant and positive step in a person’s life and should therefore be available to everyone. However, universities will need to ensure that the quality of education they deliver is not compromised by the growth in student numbers.