Some people feel the best way to reduce the number of accidents on the road is to further limit the speed of vehicles. Others think that there are better ways to tackle this issue. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Road accidents are a highly concerning issue that has been tried to be tackled in different ways. Some people believe that the best to reduce the number crashes is to have a further reduction in the speed limit of cars, while others believe that there are other viable and effective options to address this problem such as public advertisements. The following essay will discuss those perspectives and share a personal opinion. A higher speed is normally the main cause of car crashes in the streets, therefore one of the norms that has been changed in several countries by the departments of transport is about the speeding limit which has been reduced considerably showing positive results. To cite an example, the Minister of Transport in Malaysia amended the norm to decrease the limit of velocity for all types of vehicles in 5 miles per hour, which demonstrated successful results in 2018 with a drop of 13% of accidents in the entire road network of the nation. People who disagree with adressing this problem by adusting speeding limits to lower levels think that another possible option is to do more advertisements campaigns to create more awareness on reckless driving. Nonetheless this measure has been always used without reflecting an important advantage. A survey carried out by the The New York Times last year showed that most of the people disregard the publicity promoted in the media outlets by the government. Unfortunately the statistics clearly demonstrate as well that this is not the best option to tackle the issue and that in general road incidents are barely reduced by 1% to 2%. In conclusion, in order to mitigate the accidents in a road network it is crucial that apart of other options regulating norms for speed limit is highly necessary.