the development of tourism contributed to english becoming the most prominent language in the world. some people think this will lead to english becoming the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Tourism development, has contributed to English language becoming a well-known dialect in the world. Some individuals think that this could lead to English becoming the only spoken language worldwide. Having one language would certainly aid understanding and economic growth but there would also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit of having one global language is that, it would enable greater understanding between countries. In other words, if everyone spoke the same dialect, communication would become easier between not only countries but all people throughout the world which would promote learning and sharing of information and ideas. Another point to consider is the economic impact of having a uniform spoken language. With all people speaking the same dialect, there would be fewer barriers, and therefore trade would flourish between countries, resulting in a healthier global economy. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages of having only one global language. Firstly, it would mean all other languages would eventually disappear and, along with them, their cultures. The diversity of cultures is one of the interesting things this world has to offer. Each culture has its own uniqueness and perspectives on the world and these would all be lost if there is only one language is spoken worldwide. Furthermore, this would result in the collapse of the tourism industry because there would be no reason to travel for pleasure,as there would not be interesting sites to visit and learn about. This could devastate countries that rely solely on tourism as a source of income. In conclusion, while there are obvious advantages of having a global language, too amor much would be lost as a result. Preserving local languages and cultures should be prioritised to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.