Research says more and more business training and business meeting are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this era pushed by technologies like the Internet, more and more companies are willing to take meeting and training place online. In this essay, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages will be agreed by analysis. On the one hand, online meeting and training have many positive benefits for enterprises. Firstly, companies can get away from the restraint of physical locations to recruit new hires who do not live in the same place with office sites. For example, in this virtual world, new employees can receive online training by teachers from another place, as well as experts from different places can take an Internet conference together for discussing solutions to address some serious issues. Secondly, online meeting and training have a cost-effective characteristic. Many enterprises can save a huge amount of budget through these new ways of working and learning, which cut the expense of traveling and getting accommodations. Thirdly, this online working method can lead employees to work flexibly and productively. More and more employees can utilize some no-busy time to attend recorded lessons on the company’s internal network. This can help employees complete the prioritized jobs at the right time. On the other hand, more and more meeting and training taken without this face-to-face method may pose a threat to enterprise culture. This will shake the fundamental of corporate culture such as unity, team-play spirit, loyalty, and a sense of belonging. As a result, the company’s value may not be followed, employees are willing to pursue their own interest, but not devote their knowledge and skills to organizations where they work in. However, companies that pursue maximizing the interest are able to overcome those above drawback leaded by online business activities. For example, orientation training must be taken by the way of face-to-face for gaining a sense of belonging. In conclusion, I strongly agree that every company should follow up this kind of tendency of online meeting and training.