Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that the government should allocate more funds for the building of railways instead of roads. I strongly agree with this view as I believe that, railways are a safer route of transport and it is also quite affordable. Transportation is a big part of globalization, therefore this has provided opportunities for people to migrate from one place to the other. There are different ways of transportation and they include; railways, airspace, roads, water etc. In recent times railway system has proven to be safer way of transportation and this is due to the fewer number of accidents rate associated with this mode of transport. For instance, developed countries have invested significantly into railway developments and this has changed their transportation industries because, people can now travel long distances and still feel safe. Meanwhile this action has also helped decongest the roads and prevent major mishaps and air pollution caused by the constant use of vehicles. Furthermore, railways are considered to be a cheaper mode of transport because of various factors. Some of these reasons are that the government wants to encourage people to diversify their ways of transportation hence, the subsidized rates of train tickets. Also because these railway firms are mostly owned by the government, therefore, they make the fares cheaper. Overall, the government should invest more money into railways because, overtime it would become beneficial to the public, also the railway system is considered to to low maintenance and can last for a very long time. In my opinion the rail system is the future of affordable transportation.