Many people today find it difficult to balance the demand of their work and personal life. what are the causes of this situation, and but can be individuals amd employers do to reduce the problem?

Nowadays, people face immense pressure of workload and cannot maintain a work - life balance. This culture has become ubiquitous, which affects their personal and professional lives. This essay will explain the main causes of this trend and suggest possible ways to address them. There are various reasons why people cannot balance their work and personal life. Socioeconomic conditions around the globe are constantly changing, and most families struggle to make ends meet. Therefore, in such circumstances, people opt for overtime and work hard to afford a basic lifestyle for the family; it becomes difficult for such individuals to spend time with their family. Like, an employee who has a 9 am to 5 pm job sometimes prefer to stay late at his/her workplace, to earn more, then it would not be possible for him/her to be with the family. Furthermore, technology has comprehensively occupied our lives, and due to its abundant access, some workers still receive work -related messages, even out of the office premises. Replying to work emails or texts is considered essential by most organisations. Hence, individuals have to be available for unannounced meetings or texts and have to be dealt with them, accordingly; this makes it difficult for them to focus on their personal relationships. To cite an example, my friend usually stays up late at night to attend meetings because his clients live abroad, and different time zone further disturbs one’s sleep and personal life. Nevertheless, there are ways certain ways to deal with this problem. Companies can offer a bonus to employees who are in need of financial help. Such a measure can truly help people to quit overworking, which would help them strengthen their bond with close ones. Also, companies can schedule late-night meetings to day-time hours. This step would be beneficial for the employee’s mental well-being and keep a balance between life and work. To conclude, people, these days find it hard to balance work and personal life affairs due to the increase in work. This essay has explained the root causes of this trend and also highlighted ways to curb them.