Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

It is an evident phenomenon that there is a scarcity of scientific learners in different universities worldwide. The goal of this essay is to elaborate on the underlying causes of the issue and exert a number of adverse effects on society. As regards the reasons, one of the primary factors giving decline of students in this major is that science subjects such as Applied Chemistry, Computer Science or Advanced Mathematics are extremely challenging, requiring not only students’ intelligence but also diligence and patience. The learners need to carry out several experiments which are mostly tough. Consequently, there is an increasing likelihood of choosing other less demanding majors like business, pedagogy, art and so on. Equally noteworthy is the explanation that graduates from the science fields have less opportunity to find a well-paid job than other majors despite significant endeavour, discouraging students from choosing science as their speciality. When it comes to this intricate issue, there are several serious repercussions that need to be attended to. Most acute of all is the human resource crisis in science careers in the future. Less scientific degree holders result in the gradual deficiency of qualified employees in comparison with the abundance of manpower in business or other majors. Arising as a possible consequence is the lack of technological breakthroughs. Technology and scientific researches are proved to be enormously significant to our life in various aspects, especially in health care and medical treatment, which has been witnessed to extend human longevity as well as prevent and cure a variety of infectious diseases thanks to the development of technology achievement. In conclusion, the discussion above has pinpointed the main factors including the high requirements and the risk of unemployment for the scientific employees of this pressing hurdle, which feasibly triggers several undesirable impacts on the technology development as well as the imbalance in the future workforce.