Advances in science and technology and other areas of society in the last 100 years have transformed the way we live as well as postponing the day we die. There is no better time to be alive than now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technological and scientific progress in the last century has introduced tremendous changes to our lives. It also prolonged humanity’s life expectancy. Some people think that now we are living our lives to the fullest. In this essay, I will explore this notion and explain why I agree with it. Firstly, there is no argument that innovations in science had paramount positive effects on medicine and the health of a modern population. For example, cancer that was considered incurable is successfully treated nowadays. Moreover, continuous medical research in genetics is coming closer to finding a cure for HIV and AIDS. Another obvious illustration of medical development is the lowering of the ratio of newborn death. Furthermore, babies born with complications are treated right away and sometimes even in the womb of a mother before being born. Secondly, progress in technology has enabled and transformed the activity of people with special needs. For instance, various gadgets, such as hearing aid and prosthetic limbs have helped people with disabilities to hear, walk, move and live as the rest of society. Furthermore, these aids can be printed in special three-dimensional printers out of plastic, therefore making them more affordable to the ones in need. In conclusion, taking into consideration the facts that advancements in science and technology have contributed to curing serious health issues, enabling handicapped individuals live normal lives, I fully agree with the notion that humanity is living in its rise nowadays.