Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that citizens can not do anything to improve their mother nature and it is only governments and large companies that can make the solutions to protect the environment. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement for several reasons. The main reason why I believe that individuals can do plenty of things to help the environment is that they can lend a helping hand to recycle discarded items such as plastic bags, papers, containers, clothes, cans. In fact, doing this can help us to reduce a great deal of daily throw-away stuff and thus improving the city landscape. For instance, I was carefully taught by my mother to seize every possible opportunity to recycle and reuse daily stuff and therefore, I have a habit of doing this. As a result, I can decrease the great amounts of plastic items discharged into the environment. This leads to a positive effect on our mother nature. Another argument that should be considered is that city dwellers can participate in some useful activities to better the habitat. To be more specific, they can make a contribution by cleaning the streets and their near surroundings. It is just a small way to promote the environment but if everyone on this planet joins hands to engage in these activities, there will be a big difference. In conclusion, I strongly believe that everybody in the world can do various things to increase the environment ' quality because of recycling stuff and engaging in cleaning activities.