Many people work long hours, leaving little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, because of cut-throat competition, most of the workers opt for working overtime which will eventually leave them with no part-time activities. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of these trends before reaching an appropriate conclusion. Admittedly, working for long hours benefits only in monetary terms. Due to rising prices and competition, many employees are always on their toes and goes the extra mile to be the best in the team. This leads them to work for extra hours in order to go above the benchmark. Moreover, many organizations offer extra pay for working overtime. For example, during the recession couple of years back, the Australian government offered double salaries to the employees working more than nine hours. On the contrary, spending more time in the office has many shortfalls. Firstly, it adversely affects your health, as it will lead to obesity and lesson immunity. All work and no play will have a sedentary lifestyle. In the longer run, it can cause heart ailments and other multiple disorders. Such as, in a recent survey, IT employees are prone to heart attacks because of there long working hours and a sedentary lifestyle. Secondly, extra hours will jeopardize work-life balance and will create traction in the family. The person will not be able to spend quality time with the wife and children. To illustrate this, it is quite evident that divorce cases have spurged in the silicon valley of India. In conclusion, undoubtedly, putting in extra efforts and sacrificing leisure activities, will generate more cash. Although, this will be outnumbered as compared to fitness and social life which is fairly significant in leading a content life.