Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problem does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Advertising and marketing have huge effects on us. We tend to buy goods which are mostly advertised by different big brands as we get tempted to purchase it. However, in this case, local shops suffer because people prefer buying branded goods. This essay will focus on the problems caused by large business on small traders and how can we encourge people to buy from local vendors. Big business have the resources to buy goods as well as invest money in other aspects like promoting their goods, so that people buy it. Moreover, due to their steady increase in sales and goodwill, they can afford selling some goods at a cheaper rate or give discounts on products. Normally most people chose money and because of this factor, prefer buying from supermarkets. If majority of the people purchase these goods, then the local market or shopkeepers suffer loss or earn a break-even sale. It becomes hard for them to sustain in such an environement and adhere to this competition. Hence, we can encourage people to buy from local stores by promoting such shops on various social media like Facebook or Instagram, where there is no huge investment involved. One person can encourge the others by spreading information about the shop or by word of mouth. Also, members of the society can create awareness about supporting local shops by sticking a pamplet near a busy street. To conclude, how will small business survive in an area if people do not co-operate?. Although the world is modernising rapidly, we should not forget that some people need others to help them survive. We can help and support local business as they in turn will provide us with the best products needed along with a friendly touch.