In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

These days, shoppers now prefer to do their buying at bigger shopping centers or malls. As a result, small local shops have gone out of business. In my opinion, this is a negative development because it would increase the unemployment rate and also, discourage future small business owners. Firstly, small businesses have always been extremely beneficial to the public and this is because they offer variety of homemade products as compared to the products found in shopping centers which are mass produced at factories without the consideration of the consumers. For example, buying a scented candle from a small business owner is different from buying the same product from the shopping mall. This is because smaller scale businesses, are always creating creative ways to satisfy their customers like; organising candle making classes by showing the public the process of making the candles, offering personalised packaging, sending their customers newsletters informing them of new products etc. Furthermore, smaller scale businesses have provided sources of employment for lots of people. Some people these days, do not necessarily find jobs after their higher education due to overpopulation and fewer jobs instead, they start up their own businesses to sustain themselves. If these businesses are not given the opportunity to thrive, lots of people would be out of jobs and this can contribute negatively to the economy of a nation. In conclusion, shutting down of small scale businesses are happening because of the continual establishments of shopping centers and malls which, is not necessarily a bad thing but the negative effects of losing small businesses is more adverse and can cripple a nations economy in the long term.