Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is a threat to human health. Hence, some people advocate a prohibition on cigarettes and other related products. I agree that smoking should be restricted and that the tobacco industry should be regulated. However, a total ban is too extreme because it will damage personal freedom and decrease tax revenue for the government. Admittedly, smoking is harmful to one’s health and should be restricted. It causes various health issues, damaging smokers’ respiratory and cardiovascular system. Moreover, second -hand smoke is equally bad for other people around smokers. These health risks will not only create illness to individuals, but also add extra burden to the public health system. Therefore, it is reasonable to discourage smoking and limit the expansion of the tobacco industry. However, imposing a total ban on cigarettes and tobacco products is damaging an individual’s freedom. Smoking, like any other recreational activities, is a personal choice. One can be advised but should never be forced to lead a certain lifestyle. This is a basic human right. In addition, banning tobacco products is going to eliminate a profitable sector, which contributes significantly to tax revenue for the government. Around the world, cigarettes are already being taxed heavily as a measure to discourage purchase.These tax revenues are used to build infrastructures and maintain a health system, which benefits everyone including non-smokers. If this money were gone, the government will face a fiscal shortage and have to look for other sources of taxation, which may press other industries and sectors. In conclusion, smoking is not good behavior and should be restricted. But imposing a ban on the whole industry does not make sense. This will only damage human right and cause a series of other problems for the government. Thus I disagree with this kind of extreme proposal.