With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

In recent times, the desire for petroleum and its derivatives have increased worldwide. It has therefore opened the conversation of explorating exploration uncharted territories for more resources. I strongly disagree with this point of view as I believe that the consequences of climate change is far reaching and also the world already has enough exploited resources than it needs. Firstly, climate change has become a huge concern globally. Nation’s are in panic mode because the climate has exhibited certain tendencies that are unusual. For example, some states in the United States of America like Texas, recently experienced the snow-storm. This phenomenon has not occurred in years, therefore, people have begun to voice their concerns about these changes. These changes can be attributed to various factors that have begun destroying the ozone layer of earth like; exploitation of places in search of crude oil, also the process to unearth and separate the products, fossil fuel burning contributes immensely to the destruction of our planet, further endangering the lives of the people. Furthermore, in terms of resources, I believe the world already has enough than it needs. The government can invest financially into scientific researches that are geared towards finding ways to maximise the resources available and how to convert its by-products for other essential purposes. This action would reduce the urge and need of exploration of new places for resources. For example, many eco-friendly countries are constantly developing cars that do not need petroleum like electric cars, computerised cars, steam enabled engines etc. If these options are considered and implemented by the government they can prevent unnecessary harm to our planet. In conclusion, it is true people would always seek to find hidden resources however, it is also important to protect our planet because if it is destroyed by our ignorance and greed, it would be very tragic. In my opinion, I think that sensitisation to the issues that exploitation can cause is very important.