Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The choice of study of a university pupil is a first step into developing a career and participating in the country's economy. While some people defend that this choice should take into account the forthcoming's demands and only allow science and technology studies, others believe that it should only concern the student, and I tend to agree with this last claim. On one hand, the preferences and vocation of people are directly associated with their motivation and performance. Without prejudice of which study is more relevant than others, these students can outstandingly surprise society and retribute their investments with research and unexpected intellectual evolvement. For instance, graduation in Arts, which is often questioned by common sense, might offer great advances to alternative therapy and treatment for mental illness. On the other hand, the investment in science and technology is a pivotal safe investment to any country because there is a global race taking hold and pushing all nations to develop their own autonomy over the dependency on other countries. An example of that is Brazil that, in the 2000s, was able to invest in scientific scholarships and expand its range of scientists and engineers in order to develop its own nuclear submarine, which protects the cost from foreign exploitation and invasion. However, in my opinion, it is unlikely to predict precisely what the forthcoming will demand from each nation because they have their own geography and characteristics that affect deeply the economy. Nevertheless, it is doubtful that any field would be more or less important since our social organization is not only based on science and technology alone. People truly interested and involved with their chosen paths is the best strategy to look forward to the future and visualize its potentials. To sum up, there will be defendants of an economic goal in mind when to choose what studies are available for university's attendants, but also others asking for the freedom of choice and a plethora of possibilities to all sorts of fields of study.