Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

An individual needs to make the right choice as there is a subsequent reaction for it. People should take some time and analyse each aspect when they are deciding about a particular subject. Normally, parents make choices for their children if they are unable to make it, mainly due to lack of experience. But there are some people who oppose this as they feel that everyone has a freedom to choose what they want. This essay will look at both the aspect and give examples for each scenarios. If a child is less than ten to fifteen years of age, they mostly rely on their parents to make the right decision. Although the parents might given them an option, but the final word is mostly given by their elders. If the child makes a decision for themselves, like going to the shop alone or buying things without consent, this may lead to a bad decision like getting cheated while purchasing the product or due to less knowledge. Moreover, this experience should not have an adverse affect, because this may take a while to overcome. Meanwhile, if children make their own decisions, they learn from the start how to decide on something and have a view in life. This can help them in their future and they know that they can have a say. Because of this behaviour, these children are likely to be independent and can learn from their mistakes. But what about the younger population and their needs? Parents can offer to assist them if wanted, as this can allow them to do things in their own space. Looking at both the aspects, I would say that it is good to let our children make certain decisions which they love doing. This will create a feeling of responsibility as well as make them feel happy. If a parent goes on deciding for their child, it will increase their dependency, which can create a problem. Hence, teaching a school-going person about choosing something can be one of the greatest life-lesson, one could ever teach.