In some countries, more and more adults choose to continue to live with their parents after they graduate and have found jobs. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Joint families are existing in some Asian countries, where adults prefer to stay with their parents before getting married. While there are plenty of merits of this trend, which I believe, outweighing any drawbacks. In this essay, I will further discuss both sides of ideas with examples. First and foremost, one of the most significant benefits of a joint family is emotional support for youngsters. As we know that, people are normally being through a lot of hurdles while pursuing a career, so young people need the family to accompany with them in that situation. Meanwhile, when youngsters living with their parents, they normally do not need to do some house chores, such as cooking, dishwashing, as housework is divided among the members. Furthermore, young people can receive financial support from parents by sharing bills and house rental, which reliefs some of their financial burden. For instance, young adults who stay with their parents before marriage are generally stronger on mental and physical health comparing with individuals living alone. On the other hand, there are still a few disadvantages while staying with parents. One of the main problems is privacy and personal time because young people hardly have their own time during day time at work and they have to stay with their parents out of office hours. Additionally, the youngster may be too dependent on parents and lack of ability to face obstacles. For example, a 22-year-old young person may not able to manage her life well when she suddenly moves to another city for work, while the same age individual who live independently normally can handle it. In conclusion, even though there are some negative points of living with parents, like lack of privacy and independence ability, the valuable benefits for young generations to live with family are more remarkable and influential to people ’s mental and physical health.