Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Arts reflect the heritage of a country and depict the creativity of an individual. A number of people opine that the regime should invest more capital in sculptures and paintings so to make the city beautiful. However, many believe that financing in such crafts is a waste of money. I completely agree with the former view for the following reasons. Firstly, allocating money to the development and sustenance of arts helps boost the economy. Art galleries can attract tourists from all over the world, generating revenue in return. This is because when cities experience a high number of visitors, consequently, restaurants, hotels and travel agencies are monetarily benefited from it, which might increase the economic growth of that region. If governments fail to support arts fiscally, many art galleries and Museums would not be able to survive. Therefore, it is as important as science for the true progress of a nation. Secondly, it is true that works of art like colourful paintings on the walls of regular buildings and constructing sculptures and murals not only create a nice charming atmosphere of a city but also is an interesting way to educate the youngsters. Furthermore, Arts are important to alleviate crime from society and positively entertain and engage people. For instance, a survey conducted by The British Government found that many pieces of research have proved that appreciating arts helps people relieve stress. Thus resulting in a better place to live in. In conclusion, it is clear to me that spending on arts is beneficial both for an individual and society. Therefore funding arts by the government is not squandering money.