Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely accepted that people nowadays spend a large amount of their leisure time on social media. Despite the fact that these platforms have changed our lives in many positive ways, they would undoubtedly have negative effects if used cautiously. This essay will discuss both merits and drawbacks of social media and put forward my perspectives. To begin with, I firmly believe that these social websites and applications definitely play a significant role in people's life. They have brought some much convenience many aspects since the popularization of the Internet. Users of social apps such as Facebook and Reddit can chat and make friends with people who live on the other side of the planet, which would be difficult to imagine a few generations ago. Since a considerable number of urban citizens are living alone and have little interaction with colleagues for some reason - maybe they do not have common topics. And here, the social platform offers a unique opportunity to find people who have similar interests. On the other hand, there is certainly potential dangers in social media. We would have a hard time telling whether if the other users can be trusted or not due to the identity is relatively easy to disguise. Therefore, individuals should have extra caution and avoid trusting a stranger easily when meeting a new user online. Changing passwords often and using complex combinations of letters and numbers also help to secure personal information. With mature regulations and enough awareness toward cyber-crimes, one should have no problem when using social applications developed by well-known corporations such as Google and Microsoft. In conclusion, although users of social platforms would face the risk of leaking personal information if users lack caution. Since the applications such as Facebook and Reddit bring so much joy to people lives, I am convinced that there are strong arguments to support that the merits of social software outweigh the drawbacks.