Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

the last few decades have seen heated arguments that governments should finance public services instead of spending their budgets on music. Although I agree that governments investments in local services play a very important role, I think that the proper funding of arts sectors is also for society. On the one hand, the government should definitely allocate a large part of its budget to public services. this economy sector determines the overall quality of life, ensuring that all basic services like schools, hospitals, and roads, are available to all citizens irrespective of their income and social status. Public services satisfy the primary needs of the society and thus need proper funding, while artists and musicians are not curing diseases or building houses, so their role is secondary. For example, any country can live without music concerts, but the absence of medicine will create significant problems. That's why the government should adequately finance public services in the first place. On the other hand, arts, music and theatre are not a waste of money, since they are integrated with part of society culture and intellectual development and amusement. Firstly, art and music draw people attention to diverse phenomena and represent the inward significance of things. Quite often a single drawing, piece or song can exhort myriads of people to reconsider their attitude towards some situation. This way, arts serves as a major source of nations personal and intellectual development. To conclude, though I agree that the government should allocate a large part of its budget to such urgent needs of the society like public services, I think that arts, music and theatre should also be financed.