Increases in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

With the rapid rise in population across the globe, there is an upsurge in the demand for consumer goods such as grocery items, staples, consumable goods, etc. This has resulted in excessive exploitation of natural resources in order to fulfil the needs, which in turn, has lead to the degradation of the natural environment. Let's discuss the case with solutions to the problem.  Mother Earth has provided with us a place to dwell, water to drink, air to breathe and various natural resources to utilise for our general purposes. But our satiation towards our immoral needs has presented a crisis like situation disrupting the growth of the natural environment and degrading it to an extent where recovery is impossible. Other than the significantly rising world population, various other factors contributing to it are immoral utilisation of resources for weaponry, a growing competition among nations to be the world leader in consumable goods and discontent among nations to participate in up-gradation of surroundings together.  It's high time that we cooperate with each other with a strong motive to reverse the damage done to the environments to date. While some have buckled up for the purpose, some are still resilient to do so because of reasons such as deficiency in investment, not technologically sound, etc. Overall, there is a need for a paradigm shift. Every person on this earth needs to contribute towards the cause of regenerating our mother earth. There is a need to form more global organisations with the sole purpose of working towards the greater cause. We must fully immerse ourselves for the purpose.