It is claimed that one of the ways to reduce traffic jam is to improve the cost of fuel. To what extent, do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is widely believed that one solution to environmental problem - traffic jam - would be rising the price of petrol. While many people consider that this might be one of the most effective measures, I would disagree that this measure might have an even greater impact. Firstly, due to the increase of the cost of fuels, this will create detrimental effects on the economy. That there are many households are unaffordable to compensate for the extra expense lead to the fact that there would be a heavy burden on the shoulder of a man in a family. Although people would still need to travel to work, to school or to travel to shops and hospitals, they have to handle a great amount of money and decrease the fee for personal activities. Secondly, rising the price of fuels may make some daily activities become inconvenient. From the perspective of freight services, more goods would have to be transported by rail rather than by truck. The company will exchange commodity in a long way and more slowly. Besides, to reduce the cost of petrol, many people spend more time walking or going to work by public transport which held up their important appointment. Although rising in fuel prices is said to be a useful stopgap measure, this would be no longer effective and unable to tackle these problems thoroughly. It greatly influences far more the underprivileged than the affluent people. For instance, most drivers who are high-income and above-average people are still capable of paying for fuels despite higher prices. Otherwise, the waste from their companies during production process are always the main cause of pollution. In conclusion, a sharp rise in petrol prices may be a useful environmentally-friendly transport measure; however, in the longer term it would be no longer effective for its detrimental effects, inconvenience and uncomprehensiveness