For centuries, important parts of the education have remained, such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills should be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extend do you agree?

With the advancement in technology, the usage of computers has become more common. It is argued that computer education must be included as a skill set among reading, writing and math. I completely agree with the statement as, in this age of digitization computer knowledge is imperative. Firstly, in the current modern world, computer education has become inevitable. As more and more procedures nowadays are being digitized, people are encouraged to learn basic computer skills. For instance, many daily chores like payment of electricity bills, water bills can be done online. Moreover, e-commerce has really made our life convenient as we can order groceries, food, clothing and all our necessities with just a click. So, irrespective of age, everyone must have at least a beginner level knowledge of computers. Secondly, in order to secure a good job computer knowledge is a requisite. If you are well-versed in using a computer, it can really aid in your work as most of the jobs are now digitized. For example, knowing to use a computer has become necessary for even normal clerical jobs. Thus, without computer skills, it will be difficult to cope in today's modern world. To conclude, it is opined that computer knowledge must be added as a fourth skill set among reading, writing and math. In my opinion, I fully agree as without knowing how to use computers it can be challenging to survive in today's technologically advanced world. Computer education must be made available to all masses irrespective of their ages and it should be made part of the school curriculum from an early age.