Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

Feeding the exploding population is a gigantic problem faced by developing nations. A distinct group now believes that switching to genetically modified crops, in order to increase the output of food grains, is the way forward. This essay elaborates on the advantages and disadvantages of this approach. To begin with, the pluses of cultivating genetically modified crops are numerous. Firstly, because growth genes in these species are enhanced, they give higher yields per hectare of land. Thus, more grains can be harvested from smaller farms. For example, GM wheat gives twice the harvest as compared to the natural variety to farmers in Punjab. Secondly, these plants are modified in such a way that they demand less resources during cultivation. For instance, organic rice is resource-intensive that it can only be grown in the southern states, where as GM rice is also produced in a relatively arid state like Haryana. So, these genetically modified variants not only give a larger produce, but also save precious water of developing states. Although there are advantages to using DNA modified grain, it comes with certain disadvantages as well. To start with, foods made from GM crops are deficient in nutrition as compared to organic ones. For example, DNA altered varieties of rice are less in amino acid content when compared to natural ones. Moreover, they are less resistant to harsh climates and disease making them vulnerable to adverse times. For instance, GM wheat is not able to withstand locust infestation as well as the native variety. In conclusion, although this approach of using genetic engineering to modify crops to meet the demands of feeding the rising population has some advantages like higher ouput of cereals, fruits and other foods, it also has some inherent drawbacks like being defenceless against harsher weather and comparatively lower nutrition.