Nowadays many young people spend their free time in shopping centers. This has a negative effect on youths and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that spending leisure in shopping mall these days has a dreadful impact on young people and the community. In my opinion, I would completely agree with this statement because this habit consumes immensely their money and time, which affects negatively their productivity that is needed it to improve their societies. One of the main reasons for considering this trend as a negative influence is that young people would waste most of their income in buying useless items instead of paying for training or university courses. The more they used their free time in shopping, the more they become addicted to buying, which could probably push them to take more loans in order to fulfill their purchasing desires. This habit would prevent them from supporting their families or offering more funds to help the development of their societies. Another paramount reason is that it would distract young adults from improving their abilities and gaining new skills. This is because they would only interested in owing products, such as laptops, clothes, and video games as a way of showing off in front of their friends instead of focusing on their studies or work. As a result, no matter how hard they try to concentrate in heightening their academic and professional performance, it would be much difficult to find a time for it when their free time is wasted in shopping mall. For that reason, their community might suffer from having a large gap in certain skills and professions due to this habit. To sum up, consuming free time in a shopping mall has increasingly become a disadvantage for both young citizens and society. I believe that this trend would encourage them to spend large amount of their income in unnecessary goods as well as impede their development process.