Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that smoking in public places should be prohibited because of the harmful impact on people nearby as well as smokers themselves. I completely agree with the suggestion as cigarettes have an accumulative detrimental effect on human health and can lead to various types of cancer even if a person does not smoke. First of all, the more there are areas where smoking is allowed, the more often people smoke. Namely, in most cases the environment provokes humans to smoke frequently because it is extremely difficult to control poor habits by yourself. Thus, this measure will help at least to mitigate the detrimental effect on smokers' health. For instance, according to researches conducted in the USA, due to the fact that smoking was banned on board of the aircraft, most citizens who frequently fly shifted to smoke less even in their everyday life. Second of all, even cigarette fumes absorbed by the organism of non-smokers lead to adverse consequences for their wellbeing. That is to say, the harmful substances, such as heavy metals, released into the air during the process of smoking, can straightly get into the neighbour's lungs and gradually result in the impairment of functions of different organs. According to the WHO statistics, in 87% of cases humans who spend a long time with heavy smokers have the same diseases and even suffer cancer in some cases. In conclusion, provided that smoking is terminated in public places, it will incentivize addicted people to less harm their own health as well as restrict those who are nearby from the devastating effect of fumes.