Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days most individuals prefer to shop in their spare time. This activity has made the other pastimes fall pale. As we discuss this further, it will be easier to decide the yin and yang of this change in people’s behaviour. Mankind has started to do shopping quite often than they used to. I believe there are two major causes of this alternative being used frequently. Firstly, people at present are inclined towards materialistic things rather than sentimental things. They like to show-off more on their social media platforms. For instance, even kids in these times want expensive toys and games to play indoor; whereas, in the earlier times, we used to prefer playing outdoor games like Badminton, Cricket and Volleyball. This helped in making new friends, healthy and staying fit. The second and the most crucial reason is the fake advertisements that they make today, which leaves an indelible impression on the public’s mind that they are forced to buy the products. Consumers are lured to buy some unnecessary products from attractive advertisements by their favourite celebrities. One clear example is the promotions of cosmetic products by famous actors and actresses. These commercials trap the viewers and influence them to buy these materials. To sum up the above, in my opinion, shopping as a pastime has been a negative development in humans. People should shop not only according to their needs but also their necessity; and not as a hobby. This habit will also save their hard-earned money and could be used to pursue their genuine hobbies, which could kindle their interest and make them merrier.