Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, some people believe that students should learn about the science which is involved in food and they should know the techniques that are used for preparing it. Meanwhile, others believe that the students should spent their time in learning crucial subjects during their study time. In my opinion, although it is good to have knowledge about important subjects, students should also study the science of food and the required preparation. To begin with, there are many reasons behind why people think that it is necessary to study food science and the preparation involved in it. Firstly, nowadays, people are becoming health-conscious and due to that fact, it is important to study about the nutrients that are involved in food. For example, student should know about the proportion of vitamins and minerals that are available in the food and about the fats and the carbohydrates as it is very crucial for maintaining a balanced diet. Secondly, students must know how to prepare a healthy food. To illustrate, they should know how to cook by keeping in mind that food should be healthy and they should know that if they eat a lot of junk food, it would be dangerous for their health. On the other hand, some of them believe that instead of studying food science, students should study important subjects like mathematics, physics and there are many reasons behind that. One of the main reasons is that these subjects are very time -consuming because many concepts are involved in them and students need to make their basics strong. For instance, students will not get time for improving their basics when they will choose streams such as engineering and if they are weak in basics, they will not become successful in life. To conclude, I opine that it is good that students spend their time in important subjects but however, they should be aware about their health and therefore, they should learn about the science that is involved in food.